The Finance Ministers from the 19 Euro Zone Countries chose, on Monday, Portugal’s Finance Minister as their next chairman. Mário Centeno will succeed Jeroen Dijsselbloem, former Minister of Finance of the Netherlands, on January 13th 2018.  He will be the chairing monthly meetings of the Eurogroup, which comprises the finance ministers of the Euro Zone and is the most powerful economic policy-setting body of the European Union.

The 50 year old Economist became the Minister of Finance of Portugal in 2015.

“It is an honour to be the next chair of the Eurogroup,” told Centeno at a news conference after his election.


Mário Centeno, Minister of Finance of Portugal and Chairman Elect of the Eurogroup

  • Share